Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Fist Nature MMA Blog - My personal MMA blog where we discuss all things MMA. Please Subscribe for updates - Like and Share my blog and help me grow.

Poirier frustrated with UFC - Calls for Tony Ferguson fight

Posted on January 17 2019

Poirier frustrated with UFC  - Calls for Tony Ferguson fight

“I know some of the stuff is out of the UFC’s hands,” said Poirier, whose hip injury forced him out of a UFC 230 meeting with Nate Diaz. “I’m not blaming the UFC. But just the whole picture. Let’s get this (expletive) going. I’m sick of this.”

If anything, Poirier said, the promotion needs to move on with the division. He called for a fight with former interim champ Ferguson, who’s been named by White as the No. 1 contender to the lightweight belt. Poirier added that a possible fight with Ferguson (24-3 MMA, 14-1 UFC) could be for another interim title if Nurmagomedov and McGregor remain on she shelf.

“I want to fight Tony,” Poirier said. “And if it’s not Tony, good for Tony, he’s (expletive) more than earned his shot at Khabib. He’s definitely next in line for the world championship. He’s ahead of me. I agree.


“But if that’s not going to happen, let’s let the two best guys who are available go at it. Or let me and Conor go at it.”

 

 

I feel bad but lightweight is just too damn stacked. Tony is probably just in front of Poirier so they will fight if there's no title fight soon. and I'm down to strip Khabib if he doesn't fight in a year, keep things rolling. Tony should be interim

Comment on this post